Google+

Why am I emotional?

Leave a comment

August 9, 2013 by katrinadoell

Keep Calm and Run on

Ugh.

In the time that I have been conceptualizing this blog, and when I was trying to pick a name, one of the guys I know from my hockey clinic suggested I call it something like “Diary of a Whiny Runner”. Of course my confrontational personality balked at the suggestion that I was whiny, and I had a not so pleasant response for him.

Of course there was a lot of snark in his suggestion, but maybe he was right, and here is why.

I struggled A LOT this week to run. Normally, I get around my head and just get out there. But this week, it feels like the things bringing me down stapled me to my couch, leaving me staring into space pondering the future instead of on the road making something happen.

Whiny indeed. Wahhhhhh.

So, now what do I do to get over this? More importantly, why does this happen and how can I prevent it in the future?

It used to be that running gave me the outlet to get rid of all the stressful/sad/annoying parts of my life, and even gave me the time and space to get clarity. Lately, it stresses me out and makes me feel like a failure.

Leave a Reply

