Google+

Runner’s envy…stifled

Leave a comment

November 11, 2013 by katrinadoell

I didn’t know it until tonight – and a google search proved it’s existence – but runner’s envy is a thing. And I am suffering from it.

A close friend of mine ran the NYC Marathon two weeks ago. I was thrilled to be able to support her by waiting at the finish line.

But something was happened to me that day. I was jealous. I wanted the people lining the streets of the five boroughs watching me, holding signs for me, cheering for me as I throw my arms in the air in the shape of a “V” and cross the finish line.

I thought, I could do this! I can run 26.2 miles and revel in all this glory!

What has happened in the days since those ambitious thoughts? Nothing. I’ve run maybe eight miles. Not to mention the fact that I’ve now allowed my social life to interfere with getting out there.

What should have been a glorious moment of motivation spurring an all new zest for running, has turned into a super frustrating failure. Even right this moment, I am avoiding running so I can work and write this post.

If it’s not one thing, it’s another keeping me from putting on my sneakers. I’ve had to work late, work early, and then there’s friends wanting to go to dinner, happy hour or hockey games.

Knowing that you are the only person standing in the way of what you can achieve is super frustrating. And I’m constantly reminded. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram…I have followed and interact so much with running topics and people that every time I look at anyone of my feeds, something new and exciting for someone else is popping up.

Shouldn’t this envy be making me get off the couch and away from the vodka? Yes, yes it should.

Here I go.

Leave a Reply

